Tuition and Fees

Tuition & Fees can be found in the BCC College Catalog & Handbook.

Brunswick Community College, a member of the North Carolina Community College System, offers educational opportunities at low cost to the student. Tuition and fees are payable at the beginning of each semester Tuition is established by the State Board of Community Colleges, and fees are set by the Brunswick Community College Board of Trustees in accordance with policy established by the State Board of Community Colleges.

Tuition and fees are subject to change without notice. The cost of textbooks and supplies is an additional expense and varies with the program of study.

Charges will be made for all classes taken up to a maximum of 16 credit hours. A student is still considered full-time for purposes of reporting and activity fees if registered for 12 or more semester hours of course work or the equivalent. A part-time student is defined as one who is registered for less than 12 semester hours of course work or the equivalent.

The rate of tuition and fees charged for auditing a course are the same as the rate and fees charged for taking the course for academic credit. Before a course is audited, the student must complete a Request to Audit form and register for the course.

The college accepts cash, checks, Discover, MasterCard, and Visa for payment of tuition and fees.

Activity Fee

Students who register for a course load of four hours or more are required to pay a student activity fee. These fees provide financial support for student activities including Spring Fling, Fall Festival, special projects, diversity activities, and athletics. The activity fee is nonrefundable except when a class is cancelled.

The activity fee for a student registered for 7 or more hours is $32.50. Students registering for 4-6 hours have an activity fee of $20.00. Students registering for 3 or fewer hours are not charged an activity fee.


Accident insurance is required for all students at a nominal rate of $1.50. The insurance fee is non-refundable. For additional information, contact the Business Office.

Technology Fee

The technology fee is used to defray the cost of operating the computer labs. Fees are used to purchase consumables (such as paper, ink cartridges, etc.), equipment upgrades, and software acquisition. The technology fee is non-refundable except when a class is cancelled. The technology fee for students registered for 7 or more hours is $16.00. The fee for students registered for fewer than 7 hours is $8.00.

Other Expenses

Textbooks and other items are an additional expense for which the student should plan. The cost of textbooks varies with the program of study but usually ranges from approximately $300 to $800 per semester.

The student should also be aware that in some courses, the student also must provide, at his/her own expense, certain items needed to perform practice work required in those courses.

For complete information on textbooks and course materials, please visit our campus bookstore at

NC Residency for Tuition Purposes

The tuition fee for students who qualify as residents of the State of North Carolina is less than the fee charged for non­resident students. To qualify for in-state tuition, as specified in General Statute 116-143.1, a legal resident must have maintained his/her domicile in North Carolina for at least the twelve months immediately prior to his/her classification as a resident for tuition purposes. In order to be eligible for such classification, the individual must establish that his/her presence in the State during such twelve-month period was for purposes of maintaining a bona fide domicile, rather than for purposes of mere temporary residence incident to enroll­ment in an institution of higher education. Further, (1) if the parents (or court appointed legal guardian) of the individual seeking resident classification are (is) bona fide domiciliaries of the state, this fact shall be prima facie evidence of domicil­iary status of the individual applicant; and (2) if such parents or guardian are not bona fide domiciliaries of this State, this fact shall be prima facie evidence of nondomiciliary status of the individual.

Any student whose legal residence is outside the State of North Carolina, or students who are living with relatives in the community (whose parents or guardians live outside the State) and who do not qualify as residents, for tuition pur­poses under General Statute 116-143.1, shall pay tuition at out-of-state rates as established by the North Carolina Com­munity College System.

For additional information and detailed explanations of circumstance which impact NC Residency for Tuition Purposes, visit NC Residency for Tuition Purposes.

Cost of Tuition

Note: Tuition is determined by the North Carolina General Assembly and is subject to change without notice.

Net Price Calculator

2020-21 Tuition Schedule

Credit Hour(s) NC Resident Tuition Non-NC Resident Tuition
1 Hour $76.00 $268.00
2 Hours 152.00 536.00
3 Hours 228.00 804.00
4 Hours 304.00 1,072.00
5 Hours 380.00 1,340.00
6 Hours 456.00 1,608.00
7 Hours 532.00 1,876.00
8 Hours 608.00 2,144.00
9 Hours 684.00 2,412.00
10 Hours 760.00 2,680.00
11 Hours 836.00 2,948.00
12 Hours 912.00 3,216.00
13 Hours 988.00 3,484.00
14 Hours 1,064.00 3,752.00
15 Hours 1,140.00 4,020.00
16 Hours or more 1,216.00 4,288.00

Online Payments of any kind and Brunswick Community College computer equipment:
Brunswick Community College (BCC) does not advise the use of BCC computer equipment and/or wireless access to make online payments. If you choose to use BCC computer equipment or wireless access, you assume all responsibility for your personal and banking information. Brunswick Community College is not responsible for the security of the personal information entered in such transactions.


Ready to become a Dolphin?

Apply Now